The Mountain Club of South Africa

Contact

The Mountain Club of South Africa – Cape Town Section
97 Hatfield Street, Cape Town, 8001
Tel: +27 (0)21 465 3412

The office is open from 10h00 to 14h00 Mondays to Fridays.

General Enquiries: admin@mcsacapetown.co.za
Newsletter Contributions: admin@mcsacapetown.co.za
Hut Bookings: bookings@mcsacapetown.co.za
Meet Reports: connect@mcsacapetown.co.za

See our General Committee and Sub-Committee lists below.

Other than the friendly and knowledgeable staff at the front desk, the Clubhouse sports a climbing wall, extensive library, large hall for events and slide shows, braai lapa, and cooled drinks.


Cape Town Section General Committee (Gencom) Volunteers May 2018 to April 2019
Name Portfolios Telephone and Email
Martin Hutton-Squire Chairman
National Committee;
Access & Properties
021 762 4597 (h), 082 777 7055
martinhs@nullmweb.co.za
Robert Breyer Vice Chairman
Rock Climbing
021 790 6376 (h), 021 447 1326 (w),
084 651 3219

robert@nullcityrock.co.za
Lester Coelen Treasurer
Finance
021 794 5611 (h), 083 225 6703
lcoelen@nulliafrica.com
Marian Oliver Secretary
(Committee only, not office employee)

Plant Conservation
Steven Barber Information Technology
Andrew Beetge Meets andrew.beetge@nullgmail.com
Brent Jennings Search & Rescue 021 762 2161 (h), 021 406 6040 (w)
082 403 6994
brent.jennings@nulluct.ac.za
Corrie Gunter Outreach 072 5993756
corriegunter@nullgmail.com
Beth Horn Member Communications 061 755 1797
elizabethhorn.eh@nullgmail.com
Hanlie Gouws Outreach
Youth
076 151 3134
hanliegouwsrsa@nullgmail.com
Cape Town Section Sub-Committees (Subcoms) Volunteers April 2018 to March 2019
Sub-Committee Convenor and Members
Access and Land Acquisition Convenor: Richard Sherry 021 686 3896 (h), 082 806 6024, sherries@nullmweb.co.za
Members: John Brimble, Ant Hall, Martin Hutton-Squire (ex officio), Tony Lourens, Greg Moseley, Peter Pearson, Mark Straughan, Jan Truter, Mark Wilson
Agtertafelberg Hut Convenor: Pierre Hoffa 021 685 6205 (h), 021 444 7724 (w), 084 685 6205, pierre.hoffa@nullcapetown.gov.za
Members: Ray Wytenburg
Breekkrants Convenor: Freda Walters 082 456 0059, freda.walters@nulluct.ac.za
Members: None
Clubhouse Convenor: Graeme Hill 021 794 1639 (h), 083 252 4642, graemehill@nullmweb.co.za
Members: Graham Chater, Chris Inskip
Communications Convenor: Beth Horn 061 755 1797, elizabethhorn.eh@nullgmail.com
Members: Steven Barber, Hanlie Gouws, Delaney Carpenter, Robert Breyer
Du Toit’s Kloof Hut Convenor: Daniel Reinecke 021 975 9313 (h), 021 402 2103 (w), 084 408 4408, daniel.reinecke@nullgmail.com
Members: Klaus Minges, Ray Wytenburg
Entertainment Convenor: Wendy Scott, caretaker@nullmcsacapetown.co.za
Members: Mark Boekstein, Kay Quartermain, Mike Quartermain, Mike Scott, Ineke Moseley, Stephen Craven, Clare Davies, Richard Halsey
Expeditions Convenor: Greg Moseley 021 701 7618 (h), 083 763 9943, moseleyg@nullzsd.co.za
Member: Douw Steyn
Finance Convenor: Lester Coelen 021 794 5611 (h), 083 225 6703, lcoelen@nulliafrica.com
Members: None
Klein Swartberge (including Towerkop) Convenor: Colas Coetzee 028 551 1368 (h), 028 551 1020 (w), 082 371 4195
Members: Jan Viljoen 083 698 2973, jpbviljoen@nullgmail.com
Library Convenor: Ineke Moseley 021 701 7618 (h), 083 420 2019, inekemos@nullzsd.co.za
Members: Barry Fletcher, Dave Wheeler, Des Herron, Gill Grose, Kate McCallum, Kay Quartermain, Margaret Herron, Robin Sandell, Stephen Craven
Meets Convenor: Brian Lambourne (021) 715 7022, 083 409 8460, alpiniste@nulltelkomsa.net
Members: Alan Hutton, Andrew Beetge (Gencom), Don Jepson, Ezan Wilson, Greg Forsyth, Neil Brathwaite, Torben Wiborg, Ursula Athiros, Vanessa Jooste
Outreach Convenor: Hanlie Gouws, hanliegouwsrsa@nullgmail.com
Members: Camilla Adelle, Jenni Fitzell, André van Schalkwyk
Perry Refuge Convenor: Greg Wessels 084 364 8401, gregwesselssa@nullgmail.com
Members: Andrew Lewis
Plant Conservation Convenor: John Watermeyer, jwwatermeyer@nullgmail.com
Members: Aleck McKirdy, Jay Cowen, Klaus Minges, Marian Oliver (Gencom), Martin Kleynhans, Steven Barber
Rock Climbing Convenor: TBA
Members: Brian Lambourne, Brian Watts, Douw Steyn, Freda Walters, Malcolm Gowans, Micky Wiswedel, Oliver Kruger, Robert Breyer (Gencom)
Search & Rescue Co-Convenor: Anthony Hall 082 290 2937, antventure@nullyahoo.com
Co-Convenor: Brent Jennings (Gencom) 082 403 6994, brent.jennings@nulluct.ac.za
Members: Andrew Lewis, André van Schalkwyk, Brent Russel, Christo Lötter, Craig Burden, Matthew Young, Mo Thilo, Rudi, Wesley New, Xanthe Mayer
Springstygbeugel Convenor: Ron Clark 021 782 2396 (h), 084 220 0183, ronandrewclark@nullgmail.com
Members: John Brimble, Mark Wilson
Steenboksberg Convenor: Ian Bradburn 083 651 2962, ian.bradburn@nullgmail.com
Members: Jay Cowen, Aleck McKirdy, Christopher McKirdy
Table Mountain Hut Convenor: Antonie Speirs 082 306 6089, ahspeirs@nullgmail.com
Co-Convenor: Kim Penwill 061 105 0032, k.v.penwill@nullgmail.com
Members: Brian Watts, Fiona McIntosh, Geoff Dalglish, John Horler, Mark Middleton, Tristan Nebe
Waaihoeksberg Convenor: Aleck McKirdy 083 458 5410, aleckmckirdy@nullgmail.com
Members: Andrew Baxter
Youth Convenor: Delaney Carpenter 083 355 9933, delaney@nullrock-chicks.co.za
Member: Hanlie Gouws (Gencom)