The Mountain Club of South Africa

Contact

The Mountain Club of South Africa – Cape Town Section
97 Hatfield Street, Cape Town, 8001
Tel: +27 (0)21 465 3412

The office is open from 10h00 to 14h00 Mondays to Fridays, and on Friday evenings from 7.30pm to 8.20pm.

General Enquiries: office@mcsacapetown.co.za
Hut Bookings: bookings@mcsacapetown.co.za
Newsletter Contributions & Meet Reports: connect@mcsacapetown.co.za

See our General Committee and Sub-Committee lists below.

Other than the friendly and knowledgeable staff at the front desk, the Clubhouse sports a climbing wall, extensive library, large hall for events and slide shows, braai lapa, and cooled drinks.


Cape Town Section General Committee (Gencom) Volunteers April 2017 to March 2018
Name Portfolios Telephone and Email
Martin Hutton-Squire Chairman
National Committee
Access & Properties
021 762 4597 (h), 082 777 7055
martinhs@nullmweb.co.za
Robert Breyer Vice Chairman
Rock Climbing
021 790 6376 (h), 021 447 1326 (w),
084 651 3219

robert@nullcityrock.co.za
Lester Coelen Treasurer
Finance
021 794 5611 (h), 083 225 6703
lcoelen@nulliafrica.com
Marian Oliver Secretary (Committee only, not office employee)
Meets
oliver.marian@nullgmail.com
Steven Barber Information Technology 072 424 8966
stevenjbarber@nullgmail.com
Brent Jennings Search & Rescue 021 762 2161 (h), 021 406 6040 (w)
082 403 6994
brent.jennings@nulluct.ac.za
Hanlie Gouws Outreach & Youth 076 151 3134 hanliegouwsrsa@nullgmail.com
Freda Walters Member Communications 082 456 0059 freda.walters@nulluct.ac.za
Cape Town Section Sub-Committees (Subcoms) Volunteers April 2017 to March 2018
Sub-Committee Convenor and Members
Access and Land Acquisition Convenor: Richard Sherry 021 686 3896 (h), 082 806 6024, sherries@nullmweb.co.za
Members: John Brimble, Ant Hall, Martin Hutton-Squire (ex officio), Tony Lourens, Greg Moseley, Peter Pearson, Mark Straughan, Jan Truter, Mark Wilson
Agtertafelberg Hut Convenor: Pierre Hoffa 021 685 6205 (h), 021 444 7724 (w), 084 685 6205, pierre.hoffa@nullcapetown.gov.za
Members: Ray Wytenburg
Breekkrants Convenor: Martin Hutton-Squire 021 762 4597 (h), 082 777 7055, martinhs@nullmweb.co.za
Members: None
Clubhouse Convenor: Graeme Hill 021 794 1639 (h), 083 252 4642, graemehill@nullmweb.co.za
Members: Bridget Carrick, Graham Chater, Rose Ferguson, Chris Inskip
Communications Convenor: Freda Walters 082 456 0059, freda.walters@nulluct.ac.za
Members: Steven Barber, Jenni Fitzell, Hanlie Gouws, Delaney Carpenter, Robert Breyer
Du Toit’s Kloof Hut Convenor: Daniel Reinecke 021 975 9313 (h), 021 402 2103 (w), 084 408 4408, daniel.reinecke@nullgmail.com
Members: Klaus Minges, Ray Wytenburg
Entertainment Convenor: Bridget Carrick 021 461 9262 (h), 082 7911 268, bridget.carrick7@nullgmail.com
Members: Mark Boekstein, Kay Quartermain, Mike Quartermain, Mike Scott, Ineke Moseley, Duncan Middleton, Stephen Craven, Clare Davies
Expeditions Convenor: Greg Moseley 021 701 7618 (h), 083 763 9943, moseleyg@nullzsd.co.za
Member: Douw Steyn
Finance Convenor: Lester Coelen 021 794 5611 (h), 083 225 6703, lcoelen@nulliafrica.com
Members: None
Klein Swartberge (including Towerkop) Convenor: Colas Coetzee 028 551 1368 (h), 028 551 1020 (w), 082 371 4195
Members: Jan Viljoen 083 698 2973, jpbviljoen@nullgmail.com
Library Convenor: Ineke Moseley 021 701 7618 (h), 083 420 2019, inekemos@nullzsd.co.za
Members: Stephen Craven, Gill Grose, Des Herron, Margaret Herron, Kate McCallum, Kay Quartermain, Robin Sandell, Dave Wheeler
Meets Convenor: Brian Lambourne (021) 715 7022, 083 409 8460, alpiniste@nulltelkomsa.net
Members: Alan Hutton, Alec Dose, Camilla Adelle, Ezan Wilson, Greg Forsyth, Hanlie Gouws, June Good, Marian Oliver (Gencom), Torben Wiborg, Ursula Athiros
Outreach Convenor: Hanlie Gouws, hanliegouwsrsa@nullgmail.com
Members: Camilla Adelle, Jenni Fitzell, André van Schalkwyk
Perry Refuge Convenor: Greg Wessels 084 364 8401, gregwesselssa@nullgmail.com
Members: Andrew Lewis
Plant Conservation Convenor: John Watermeyer, jwwatermeyer@nullgmail.com
Members: Steven Barber, Jay Cowen, Martin Kleynhans, Klaus Minges, Aleck McKirdy
Rock Climbing Convenor: VACANT
Members: Robert Breyer (Gencom)
Search & Rescue Co-Convenor: Anthony Hall 082 290 2937, antventure@nullyahoo.com
Co-Convenor: David Nel 082 499 9656, david@nullbams.co.za
Members: Andrew Lewis, André van Schalkwyk, Brent Jennings (Gencom), Douw Steyn, Matthew Young, Rachel Chater, Rik De Decker, Xanthe Mayer
Springstygbeugel Convenor: Ron Clark 021 782 2396 (h), 084 220 0183, ronandrewclark@nullgmail.com
Members: John Brimble, Mark Wilson
Steenboksberg Convenor: Ian Bradburn 083 651 2962, ian.bradburn@nullgmail.com
Members: Jay Cowen, Aleck McKirdy, Christopher McKirdy
Table Mountain Hut Convenor: Mark Middleton (021) 780 1209 (h), 082 924 5605, mark@nullsavetshops.co.za
Co-Convenor: Brian Watts (021) 461 9164 (h), 082 921 6993, badwatts@nullgmail.com
Members: Clint Clark, John Horler, Fiona McIntosh, Tristan Nebe, Antonie Speirs, John Wilson (ex-officio)
Waaihoeksberg Convenor: Aleck McKirdy 083 458 5410, aleckmckirdy@nullgmail.com
Members: Andrew Baxter
Youth Convenor: Delaney Carpenter 083 355 9933, delaney@nullrock-chicks.co.za
Member: Hanlie Gouws (Gencom)