The Mountain Club of South Africa


The Mountain Club of South Africa – Cape Town Section
97 Hatfield Street, Cape Town, 8001
Tel: +27 (0)21 465 3412

The office is open from 10h00 to 14h00 Mondays to Fridays.

General Enquiries:
Newsletter Contributions:
Hut Bookings:
Meet Reports:

See our General Committee (Gencom) and Sub-Committee lists below.

Other than the friendly and knowledgeable staff at the front desk, the Clubhouse sports a climbing wall, extensive library, large hall for events and slide shows, braai lapa, and cooled drinks.

Cape Town Section General Committee (Gencom) Volunteers 2021/22
Name Portfolios Telephone and Email
Position Vacant
National Committee
Brent Jennings Vice Chairman
Search & Rescue
021 762 2161 (h), 021 406 6040 (w)
082 403 6994
Lester Coelen Treasurer
021 794 5611 (h), 083 225 6703
Marian Oliver Secretary
(General Committee only, not office employee)

021 424 2204 (w)
TBA Access & Properties
Hanlie Gouws ICT Systems 072 310 3510
Andrew Beetge Meets
Thandi Davies Member Communications
Andile Nqoko Outreach 074 571 0635
Katherine Forsythe Plant Conservation 078 829 1876
Robert Breyer Rock Climbing 021 790 6376 (h), 021 447 1326 (w),
084 651 3219
Brigitte Pegado 071 121 6464
Cape Town Section Sub-Committees (Subcoms) Volunteers 2020/21
Sub-Committee Convenor and Members
Access & Land Acquisition Convenor: Richard Sherry 021 686 3896 (h), 082 806 6024,
Members: John Brimble, Ant Hall, Martin Hutton-Squire (ex officio), Tony Lourens, Greg Moseley, Peter Pearson, Mark Straughan, Jan Truter, Mark Wilson
Agtertafelberg Hut Convenor: Pierre Hoffa 021 685 6205 (h), 021 444 7724 (w), 084 685 6205,
Members: Ray Wytenburg
Breekkrants Convenor: Joe de Villiers
Members: None
Clubhouse Convenor: Joe de Villiers
Members: TBA
Communications Convenor: Thandi Davies (Gencom)
Members: TBA
Du Toit’s Kloof Hut Convenor: Chris McKirdy 061 468 8640,
Members: Amber De Decker, Kate Larmuth, Leander Lacey, Ray Wytenburg, Tom Smyth
Entertainment Convenor: Anita Tait,
Members: Clare Davies, Jaco Janse van Vuuren, Kay Quartermain, Mike Quartermain, Sara Araujo, Stephen Craven, Wendy Paisley
Expeditions Convenor: Greg Moseley 021 701 7618 (h), 083 763 9943,
Member: Douw Steyn
Finance Convenor: Lester Coelen 021 794 5611 (h), 083 225 6703,
Members: None
Klein Swartberge (including Towerkop) Convenor: Jan Viljoen 083 698 2973,
Members: Colas Coetzee 028 551 1368 (h), 028 551 1020 (w), 082 371 4195
Library Convenor: Kate McCallum 021 461 5392,
Members: Barry Fletcher, Clare le Manach, Des Herron, Hanlie Gouws, Hennie Goddard, Gill Grose, Kay Quartermain, Lucy Olden, Margaret Herron, Robin Sandell, Stephen Craven (Archives)
Meets Convenor: Brian Lambourne (021) 715 7022, 083 409 8460,
Members: Alan Hutton, Andrew Beetge (Gencom), Don Jepson, Ezan Wilson, Greg Forsyth, Kate McCallum, Ursula Athiros, Vanessa Jooste
Outreach Convenor: Hanlie Gouws,
Members: André van Schalkwyk, Andile Nqoko (Gencom), Camilla Adelle, Heleen du Toit, Jenni Fitzell, Neil Johnson, Rosie Campbell, Thembi Dyani, Vanessa Jooste, Wesley Nash
Perry Refuge Convenor: Andrew Beetge,
Members: Andrew Lewis
Plant Conservation Convenor: Michael Champanis,
Members: Aleck McKirdy, Jay Cowen, Katherine Forsythe, Klaus Minges, Martin Kleynhans, Steven Barber
Rock Climbing Convenor: Robert Breyer (Gencom)
Members: Brian Watts (Meets), Cormac Tooze (Anchor Replacement Fund, ARF), Malcolm Gowans (Sport Climbing), Micky Wiswedel (Sport Climbing), Oliver Kruger (Bouldering)
Search & Rescue Co-Convenor: Brent Jennings (Gencom) 082 403 6994,
Co-Convenor: Wesley New,
Members: Andrew Lewis, Anthony Hall, Brent Russel, Christo Lötter, Matthew Young, Rashaad Jakoet, Steve Hofmeyr
Springstygbeugel Convenor: Ron Clark 021 782 2396 (h), 084 220 0183,
Members: John Brimble, Mark Wilson
Steenboksberg Convenor: Ian Bradburn 083 651 2962,
Members: Jay Cowen, Aleck McKirdy, Christopher McKirdy
Table Mountain Hut Convenor: Antonie Speirs 082 306 6089,
Co-Convenor: Kim Penwill 061 105 0032,
Members: Fiona McIntosh, Geoff Dalglish, John Horler, Tristan Nebe
Waaihoeksberg Convenor: Wesley Nash
Members: None