The Mountain Club of South Africa

Contact

The Mountain Club of South Africa – Cape Town Section
97 Hatfield Street, Cape Town, 8001
Tel: +27 (0)21 465 3412

The office is open from 10h00 to 14h00 Mondays to Fridays.

General Enquiries: admin@mcsacapetown.co.za
Newsletter Contributions: admin@mcsacapetown.co.za
Hut Bookings: bookings@mcsacapetown.co.za
Meet Reports: connect@mcsacapetown.co.za

See our General Committee (Gencom) and Sub-Committee lists below.

Other than the friendly and knowledgeable staff at the front desk, the Clubhouse sports a climbing wall, extensive library, large hall for events and slide shows, braai lapa, and cooled drinks.

Cape Town Section General Committee (Gencom) Volunteers 2020/21
Name Portfolios Telephone and Email
Martin Hutton-Squire Interim Chairman
National Committee
082 777 7055
chairman at mcsacapetown.co.za
Brent Jennings Vice Chairman
Search & Rescue
021 762 2161 (h), 021 406 6040 (w)
082 403 6994
brent.jennings@uct.ac.za
Lester Coelen Treasurer
Finance
021 794 5611 (h), 083 225 6703
lcoelen@iafrica.com
Marian Oliver Secretary
(General Committee only, not office employee)

021 424 2204 (w)
TBA Access & Properties
Hanlie Gouws Information Technology 072 310 3510
hanliegouwsrsa@gmail.com
Andrew Beetge Meets andrew.beetge@gmail.com
Petro Mostert Member Communications
Andile Nqoko Outreach 074 571 0635
anqoko@gmail.com
TBA Plant Conservation
Robert Breyer Rock Climbing 021 790 6376 (h), 021 447 1326 (w),
084 651 3219
robert@cityrock.co.za
Cape Town Section Sub-Committees (Subcoms) Volunteers 2020/21
Sub-Committee Convenor and Members
Access & Land Acquisition Convenor: Richard Sherry 021 686 3896 (h), 082 806 6024, sherries@mweb.co.za
Members: John Brimble, Ant Hall, Martin Hutton-Squire (ex officio), Tony Lourens, Greg Moseley, Peter Pearson, Mark Straughan, Jan Truter, Mark Wilson
Agtertafelberg Hut Convenor: Pierre Hoffa 021 685 6205 (h), 021 444 7724 (w), 084 685 6205, pierre.hoffa@capetown.gov.za
Members: Ray Wytenburg
Breekkrants Convenor: Joe De Villiers
Members: None
Clubhouse Convenor: Joe De Villiers
Members: TBA
Communications Convenor: TBA
Members: Jenni Fitzell, Petro Mostert (Gencom)
Du Toit’s Kloof Hut Convenor: Daniel Reinecke 021 975 9313 (h), 021 402 2103 (w), 084 408 4408, daniel.reinecke@gmail.com
Members: Klaus Minges, Ray Wytenburg
Entertainment Convenor: Anita Tait, admin@mcsacapetown.co.za
Members: Clare Davies, Jaco Janse van Vuuren, Kay Quartermain, Mike Quartermain, Sara Araujo, Stephen Craven, Wendy Paisley
Expeditions Convenor: Greg Moseley 021 701 7618 (h), 083 763 9943, moseleyg@zsd.co.za
Member: Douw Steyn
Finance Convenor: Lester Coelen 021 794 5611 (h), 083 225 6703, lcoelen@iafrica.com
Members: None
Klein Swartberge (including Towerkop) Convenor: Jan Viljoen 083 698 2973, jpbviljoen@gmail.com
Members: Colas Coetzee 028 551 1368 (h), 028 551 1020 (w), 082 371 4195
Library Convenor: Kate McCallum 021 461 5392, kate.mccallum@storm.co.za
Members: Clare le Manach, Barry Fletcher, Des Herron, Hanlie Gouws, Hennie Goddard, Gill Grose, Kay Quartermain, Lucy Olden, Margaret Herron, Robin Sandell, Stephen Craven (Archives)
Meets Convenor: Brian Lambourne (021) 715 7022, 083 409 8460, alpiniste51@gmail.com
Members: Alan Hutton, Andrew Beetge (Gencom), Don Jepson, Ezan Wilson, Greg Forsyth, Kate McCallum, Ursula Athiros, Vanessa Jooste
Outreach Convenor: Hanlie Gouws, hanliegouwsrsa@gmail.com
Members: André van Schalkwyk, Andile Nqoko (Gencom), Camilla Adelle, Heleen du Toit, Jenni Fitzell, Neil Johnson, Rosie Campbell, Thembi Dyani, Vanessa Jooste, Wesley Nash
Perry Refuge Convenor: Andrew Beetge, andrew.beetge@gmail.com
Members: Andrew Lewis
Plant Conservation Convenor: John Watermeyer, jwwatermeyer@gmail.com
Members: Aleck McKirdy, Jay Cowen, Klaus Minges, Martin Kleynhans, Steven Barber
Rock Climbing Convenor: Robert Breyer (Gencom)
Members: Brian Watts (Meets), Cormac Tooze (Anchor Replacement Fund, ARF), Malcolm Gowans (Sport Climbing), Micky Wiswedel (Sport Climbing), Oliver Kruger (Bouldering)
Search & Rescue Co-Convenor: Brent Jennings (Gencom) 082 403 6994, brent.jennings@uct.ac.za
Co-Convenor: Wesley New, wesnew+mcsa@gmail.com
Members: Andrew Lewis, Anthony Hall, Brent Russel, Christo Lötter, Matthew Young, Rashaad Jakoet, Steve Hofmeyr
Springstygbeugel Convenor: Ron Clark 021 782 2396 (h), 084 220 0183, ronandrewclark@gmail.com
Members: John Brimble, Mark Wilson
Steenboksberg Convenor: Ian Bradburn 083 651 2962, ian.bradburn@gmail.com
Members: Jay Cowen, Aleck McKirdy, Christopher McKirdy
Table Mountain Hut Convenor: Antonie Speirs 082 306 6089, ahspeirs@gmail.com
Co-Convenor: Kim Penwill 061 105 0032, k.v.penwill@gmail.com
Members: Fiona McIntosh, Geoff Dalglish, John Horler, Tristan Nebe
Waaihoeksberg Convenor: Wesley Nash
Members: None